Random Stuff

Rhea was scarred for life, or at least a few minutes early this morning.  It was still dark and I got up to use the bathroom but for some reason my head was sideways and I kept losing my balance and staggering about.  Finally I bumped against a cat tree Rhea was sitting on and she rocketed off downstairs.  Eventually I got my head vertical, but she didn’t come back.

With the short hours before sunset and my laziness n getting out to walk before afternoon I’ve been hunting out “open space” nearer home and today was noodling around in a little section of hills on the other side of the interstate highway higher up the ridge I live on.  Last time I went out I found an approved entrance to the open space area and explored part.  This time I went another way and found some trails that led to the back of a Christmas Tree Farm, a long area under some high tension towers.  Trails around here often use those, since they need a dirt trail for cars and trucks to get there for maintenance. I also managed to find a path that led to the lip of the highway cut about at the top of the ridge.  Then from there I went along the path under the wires to the hilltop in another place and there was a pretty cool looking swath cut for this power line leading straight along the ridge between subdivisions over to a hill I’ve hiked before coming from the other direction out from a park out there.  I doubt I could follow it the whole way but it was interesting to see how the land lays in that direction.  Then looking over that you could see down into other valleys beyond and the hills and mountains that border them.

I also played around with Picasa and its limited picture effects tabs.  I’ve used the HDR-ish a few times before because it always reminds me of a van Gogh painting when you get it high enough.

When I got back Davout was napping.

When it was time for pictures, he had moved to the cat tree.  I kept trying to catch him with his tongue out and missing, so I started sticking my tongue out to see if it would make him poke his out in sympathy.  I did get a great whisker shot.

After a few too many funny faces on my part, Davout seemed to be getting annoyed.

Treat Time

So I bribed him with treats.  I tried to get examples of his footwork when eating treats.  Here he is moving it closer with a paw.

This isn’t the best shot, but you can see the paw on the left is in a cup shape, which he uses to catch a treat if it falls out of his mouth.

And speaking of paws, this closeup of a back paw shows his insane toe-tufts.  Not only does int extend way out on the bottom, there is so much that bits of it poke out the top between the toes.

About Oldcat

Engineer with Cats
This entry was posted in Cats, Marshal Davout, Rhea Silvia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Random Stuff

  1. Marc-André says:

    Wow. Fluffiest paws ever 😀

    Like

  2. Ellen Pilch says:

    They are all such cuties, I love your photos of them.

    Like

  3. Poor Rhea! She deserves more playtime and extra treats!

    Like

  4. weggieboy says:

    I had to laugh (with you~!) when reading how you tried to get Davout to stick his tongue out! I’ve been trying for over three years to catch on video one or the other of my cats shaking his head because their ears make a cute whirring sound that makes me laugh when it happens. One of these days…one of these days! On the other hand, back to your efforts, the close-up photo of Rhea really shows off her beauty, and the “van Gogh” is convincing! Of course, it’s always fun to see Davout’s crazy whiskers.

    Like

  5. Lurkertype says:

    Those are the most ridiculous toe tufts ever. Davout is the king of interdigital floof.

    Rhea, as always, is a pretty pretty princess kitty.

    Like

  6. kimkiminy says:

    That totally looks like a painting.

    Like

    • Oldcat says:

      Yeah, its one of the few visual effects that Picasa has that does anything I find interesting. Not too interested in sepia. The “Pencil” look is usually not too much like a pencil sketch to me. The effects on my phone camera do that better…and I like some of the painting/cartoon effects that you can make with the tool Paper Camera. I just don’t take cat pictures with it much because I have three or four real cameras underfoot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

