Award Day

Brazen Girl

Rhea deserves an award for her bold as brass return inside through the front door after leaping out of the back yard.

Black Cat Blue Sea Award

The Adopted Cat Blog has nominated me for an award – this “The Black Cat Blue Sea Award”.  While I don’t pass on awards myself, I will do the other parts here, including the questions.

Davout is the Good Boy

Davout would never be a bad kitty.

Q1: Blogs are very personal, you are throwing yourself out there for the world to read.  What made you decide to start a blog?

Before 2010 or so, I spent a lot of computer time on news and political sites, some of which had a regular feature of mixing in cat blogging.  As time went on, the politics scene of the commenters became more poisonous and nasty, so I stopped going there in preference to cat blogs.  I’d also seen a lot of blogs come and go that were dedicated to wide and sweeping things, so I figured if I made a blog it would have an extremely narrow focus.  Thus I rarely tell anything at all, aside from the cats and the pictures.

The cat blogs gave me some ideas about adopting a third cat and when I finally did that, I felt a blog of my own would be a good way to encourage me to keep taking pictures of the cats.  Some inter-cat issues put things off for a while, but finally in April 2011 I started the blog about the cats and their yard.

High Spy

Sometimes I get the feeling someone is watching me…and there is.

Q2: If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be, and why?

People need to change themselves.  Making them is just another thing that would have to be fixed by another wish

Tidy Cat

Q3:  What’s the best piece of advise that someone has offered you, could be personal, career…..anything?

When I was in college during my first summer away from home I found a little lost black kitten that died in about a week from distemper.  A friend told me that I should go to the pound and get another cat since I was so down and depressed.  The next week we walked to the humane society and I adopted a lovely kitten with blue and creme tortie fur.   She was with me for 20 years until 2002.   She overlapped my cat Gus for about 5 years, who overlapped by a few months with Rhea and Davout.

So there’s the black cat to match the award.

Top Cat

About Oldcat

Engineer with Cats
This entry was posted in Anna Comnena, Cats, Marshal Davout, Rhea Silvia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Award Day

  1. Congratulations on the award! I’m glad you’ve been able to carve your own niche of happiness on the innerwebs. I enjoy visiting your blog when I’m looking for peace and some lovely cat photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo Woolf says:

    Congratulations to you and your fluffkins! Always a pleasure to read your posts.

    Like

  3. weggieboy says:

    I know you blog is one place I come to to get a little peace of mind and a look at your beautiful threesome! Congratulations!

    Like

  4. Sabina Ayne says:

    Congrats on your award!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pilch92 says:

    Congrats on your award. I enjoy your blog and photos of your beautiful kitties.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bitsy says:

    I’ve not commented before, but I read this blog each day. One of the things I find most attractive about the blog is that it is exactly what it says it is: Cats and a yard. I look forward each day to see what’s going on with the cats. And such gorgeous cats! What else would one need?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

