Calpurnia the Mighty Hunter?

Calpurnia had a busy day poaching on Julius’ preserve. Literally on her first steps out onto the patio this morning she was hunting. She jumped sideways and was off, and by the time I could get out all I could see was her poking around some scraps. When I lifted the pieces there was our old friend, Julius’ lizard there. I could tell by the way he was favoring a leg.

Calla dashed forward but she had backed off too far and the lizard beat her back to his place between the house and the patio where he fled the day before. So there was little to do but keep her weapons ready for action.

A while later I was out back with her and I saw her go to alert status. This time I saw what she did – a tiny baby lizard about the length of your little finger.  She made a grab for it but it was too quick and lost itself in some dead leaves.

Calpurnia stayed on the watch for at least 15 minutes for it to move again, but it was no go.

Towards evening I was inside reading by the window and caught a movement out of the corner of my eye and saw a lizard on the window, and Calpurnia was right there too. This lizard was about the size of the one from the morning, but he didn’t seem to have any problem using his leg.

I brought Calla inside and showed her the lizard hanging on the screen, which was of great interest. Then it moved and she was off outside, where I got the picture above. The lizard was pretty spry, he even evaded me and made his escape up the wall out of even my reach.

Once thwarted, instead of looking by the window she went to the far end of the yard and was investigating the plants and rocks very closely. Is this where she caught the lizard and then carried dragged him to the window where he escaped?

Calpurnia isn’t telling.

About Oldcat

Engineer with Cats
This entry was posted in Calpurnia, Cats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calpurnia the Mighty Hunter?

  1. kimkiminy says:

    Lizards are like kitty crack. Love the first photo. Isn’t it adorable when they seriously EAT their toes?

    Like

  2. What an excellent huntress!

    Mom Paula

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.