Troubling Day

This is a recycled picture from yesterday.  Had something worrying happen when I got home from work.

I opened the back door for Julie to go out and unlike usual Calla didn’t go out.  She was in the living room sort of staring off into space, then she started calling out.  This was odd.  When I picked her up she grabbed at something nearby with her front paws (a cat bed) and held on for a good time.  She started calling out again, an even louder then sort of twisted herself up and made a very strange sound.  I put her down, and she partly fell over, like one of her front legs wasn’t right.

This was scary, but after I put her in a little nest on the couch she seemed to be all right.  She still tended to stare off, but when I fed her some treats she got up on her paws all right.  Later she jumped down and sat in her hammock bed where she is now.  She might have a bit of a fever – her nose is warm and dry.  Her eyes look ok.  Since then, she just seems tired but otherwise normal.

So a bit later, I was distracted from my fussing over Calpurnia by some cries from Gus.  He had been hovering around for a while and then went off.  I looked at him, and he was half standing up, staggering sideways with his tail sticking out at right angles, trying not to fall over.   I picked him up and he was stiff at first, but relaxed fairly quickly and started purring.  When I let him down, he seemed OK, and after a little rest on a rug has been acting normally ever since, walking here and there without any other issues.

Coincidence?  My current theory is that Calla is a bit sick, and possibly is dizzy.  Perhaps Gus had a cramp.  I had a cat once that got a bit of paralysis in her hips and this doesn’t seem the same as that.

Nothing seems odd about Julie, thank goodness.

P.S.  Calla just trotted from the hammock bed across the room normally.  She looked a bit sluggish climbing into another bed over there, but otherwise normal.

About Oldcat

Engineer with Cats
This entry was posted in Calpurnia, Cats, Gustavus Adolphus, Julius Caesar and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Troubling Day

  1. Laura says:

    That’s really strange. I hope everyone is okay.

    Like

  2. Jo Woolf says:

    That does sound quite worrying, and I would also wonder if they have the same thing. This is when it would be good if cats could talk! I really hope they both settle down and are OK. Sending best wishes.

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear they’re having problems! Hope everything will be back to normal tomorrow! Purrayers!

    Like

  4. nadbugs says:

    Totally scary. Paws crossed it’ll pass, whatever “it” is.

    Like

  5. catsonleads says:

    Hope its just an off day ,but best to keep an eye on them in case they have eaten or drank something they shouldn,t xx

    Like

  6. weggieboy says:

    I hope all’s well, too.

    Cats are notorious for hiding illness and hurt till things are too far gone or, at least, worse than they’d be if we could read their thoughts. I get freaked out when one of my cats acts a little off since the cat I had just before them died from lymphoma. Until the night he died, he gave no indication of being sick, let alone mortally so.

    I’ve taken his successors to the veterinarian’s many times when they actually weren’t in danger or sick, but I’d hate losing either Andy or Dougy through my negligence.

    Like

  7. kimkiminy says:

    How weird. I hope it’s nothing.

    Like

  8. digitalgranny says:

    Sending good vibes that all is well.

    Like

  9. by now I know that Calla has passed, perhaps you might want to get Gus to the vet too?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.