Not Totally Gone

Round Eye Grant

Everything’s fine here, first of all.  The changeover to a new computer had issues that I couldn’t figure out until I saw a Windows log that the hard drive would sometimes take 20 seconds to read a small bit of data from the drive.  It didn’t fail and give a message, just went off.  Since I was trying to put thousands of pictures on the device and work up a new set of habits too, it became a chore.

Then I got laid off after 2o+ years and had to add interesting chores like getting insurance, hunting for work, and possibly prepping for a cross country move.  I have a new job now, but I’m using the now-repaired portable for that job and not spending time re-establishing photo software on it.

Also I just spent the off-time being with the cats more than posing them up.

Overlook Rhea

The cats liked having me around, but the weather the last month was terrible and only a little bit of time was worth going outside.

Sherman Eats

Sherman and Davout have both overcome some of their reserve – it started with Sherman hanging out behind the portable screen and playing with pens and such while I worked, and Davout started jumping up onto my lap when he wanted some attention too.

Moo Cow Davout

Davout was miffed that the weather was so bad that he couldn’t go out, but he liked eating grass.  He isn’t like Rhea and Sherman, who have a taste for the six inch long pine needles and chew on them and (at least in Rhea’s case) swallow them and poo them out.  And, yes, having poo stuck on a pine needle means it sticks to your long elegant fur.

So, finally, I just admitted defeat and reverted to the old portable for WordPress for now. Today (the 15th) and tommorrow are the anniversary of my two longest lived cats, Calla and Gus

About Oldcat

Engineer with Cats
This entry was posted in General Grant, General Sherman, Marshal Davout, Rhea Silvia. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not Totally Gone

  1. Andrea Kenner says:

    I’m so glad you’re back! It’s nice to see you here.

    Like

  2. Welcome back! I am very happy you fond a new job. I’ve been laid off more than once, so I know what that’s like. I look forward to once again seeing regular updates about your adorable cats.

    Like

  3. Anne Daigle says:

    Glad you are all right. Bad business getting laid off. I was 63 when it happened, But thankfully there was another job for someone wanting to work until Medicare age. I missed those cats.

    Like

  4. I am sorry to hear about all of the turmoil. May you be settled into a routine quickly

    Like

  5. Mary McNeil says:

    Sorry you’ve had some rough times, but glad you and the cats are ok !

    Like

  6. guyz….veree nice ta see ewe bak; sorree dadz had a time oh it tho we
    is buzzed happee him findin a new job….we noe how that goez ….heerz
    ta grate dayz a head !! 🙂 ♥♥

    Like

  7. Missed you, but glad to know things are better for you. Getting laid off when one is over 50 is tough. I had a hard time re-entering the work force after taking time off to look after my parents, Even now, the job I have is nowhere near the level of pay I had back in the Midwest pre-Great Recession. Hope your transition was a lot easier!

    Always I miss Gus and Cal.

    Like

  8. 15andmeowing says:

    Sorry you were laid off. I am glad you found another job. Nice to see the kitties.

    Like

  9. Bitsy says:

    So sorry to learn about the troubles, but so glad to see you back! I didn’t realize how much I depended on my daily dose of ‘three cats and a yard’ to give me an end of day pick-me-up! I remember – and miss – Calla and Gus, but enjoy the new gang very much.

    Like

  10. weggieboy says:

    Wow! Glad your work problem is resolved! Congratulations on your new one! Also, I missed you and the kitties a lot since February and wondered what happened to you…or them! They are looking great! All said, welcome back!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.